VoiceTracer (DVT4110, DVT6110, DVT7110, DVT8110)

Recording

Record a file

Note

  • Be careful not to cover the microphones while recording. This might result in a lower recording quality.

  • If the recording time of your current recording exceeds the available storage capacity, the recording will stop. In this case, delete files from your device to make more storage available.

Before you start recording

  • Make sure your device has enough battery power left. When your battery is almost discharged, you will see a battery low icon VoiceTracer battery icon.

    X The device will turn off and your current recording will automatically be saved.

  • First select the folder you want your recording to be saved in. For more information, see Start a new recording. You can store 100 files in each of the folders A, B, C, and D.

    If one of the folders is full, your subsequent recordings will automatically be stored in the next folder.

  • We recommend that you make a test recording in order to find the most suitable presets for your recording and achieve the best recording results.

Start a new recording

  1. In stop mode, press the Left function button VoiceTracer new file icon to start a new recording.

    X The new file mode screen is displayed.

  2. Press the Right function button to open the settings panel VoiceTracer settings icon.

    To select a folder for your recording to be saved in:

    • Press the Up/Down buttons to navigate to Folder and then press the Record button to confirm your selection.

    • Press the Up/Down buttons to navigate to the folder you want your new recording to be saved in and then press the Record button to confirm your selection.

    • To return to the stop mode screen, press the Back button.

    To adjust the settings for your recording:

    • Press the Up/Down buttons to navigate to your desired setting and then press the Record button to confirm your selection.

    • To return to the stop mode screen, press the Back button.

  3. Press the Record button to start recording.

    X The recording screen is displayed.

    X The Record/Status LED illuminates red.

  4. Press the Record button again to stop recording.

    X The recording is saved to the preselected folder.

Edit a file

You can edit existing recordings in stop mode by appending or overwriting a recording.

Append: Add additional recording parts at the end of an existing recording.

Overwrite: Overwrite an existing recording part starting from any point within the recording.

To append a recording part:

In stop mode of an existing file, press the Record button.

  • If the cursor of the audio progress bar is at the end of the recording:

    X The recording screen is displayed and a new recording part is added at the end of your file.

  • If the cursor of the audio progress bar is at the beginning of the recording:

    X The editing panel opens.

    X Press the Up/Down buttons to select Append and then press the Record button to confirm your selection.

    X The recording screen is displayed and a new recording part is added at the end of your file.

To overwrite a recording part:

  1. In playback mode, press the Play/Stop button to stop playback at your desired part.

  2. Press the Record button.

    X The editing panel opens.

  3. Press the Up/Down buttons to select Overwrite and then press the Record button to confirm your selection.

    X The recording screen is displayed and a new recording starts from where you stopped playback.

Tip

If you always want to either append or overwrite a recording part and don't want the editing panel to open each time, press the Right function button to open the settings panel VoiceTracer settings icon. Press the Down button to navigate to Edit mode and then select Append or Overwrite.